A National competition in Mountain Bike Orienteering has been held since 2008. A series of events spread across at least 3 states constitutes the league each year.

There are competitions for individuals as well as state based teams.

In 2008 and 2009, the series was conducted in Open Elite and Junior (under 21) classes. In 2010 the competition was expanded to include Masters age classes – increasing the competition between states.

2017 National MTBO Junior, Senior and Masters Series

The 2017 National Mountain Bike Orienteering Series schedule will include 3 rounds.

Four Senior divisions – M/W-20, M/W Open will contest 9 races over the 3-round series. In addition to the youth classes, four Junior divisions (-14,-16), ten Masters divisions (40-, 50-, 60-, 70-, 80- ) will be contested during these events.

Rules – The Orienteering Australia Rules for MTBO will apply – OA MTBO RULES 2014

Individual Competition

Individual scoring in M/W-14, M/W-16, M/W-20, M/W Open, M/W 40-, 50-, 60-, 70-, 80-
The table sets out how points can be scored in each of the 8 races in all of the 18 classes.

Placing Points Placing Points
1st 30 14th 12
2nd 27 15th 11
3rd 24 16th 10
4th 22 17th 9
5th 21 18th 8
6th 20 19th 7
7th 19 20th 6
8th 18 21st 5
9th 17 22nd 4
10th 16 23rd 3
11th 15 24th 2
12th 14 25th 1
13th 13 26th or less 0

In each age division, the best five (5) results over all the years’ rounds will be counted in the individual age-group competition. There is no limit to the number of state competitors who may enter/score points in M/W-14, M/W-16, M-20, W-20, M-Open, W-Open, M/W 40-, 50-, 60-, 70-, 80-.

State Teams Competition

Contested among Canberra Cockatoos, NSW Stingers, Queensland Storm, Southern Arrows, Tasmanian Foresters, Victorian Nuggets and Western Nomads.
The top two (2) rider’s times from a state in each of the age divisions will be summed in the official ranking to determine the team placing. If only one state rider records a time, that state is ranked based on that result alone – below those with two riders. After each event, points from each of the divisions will be summed to give the National MTBO Series Team Scores.

1st Place = 9 Points
2nd Place = 7 points
3rd Place = 5 Points
4th Place = 4 Points
5th Place = 3 points
6th Place = 2 Points
7th Place = 1 Point
Unplaced = 0 points

1998-2016 OA Plaque – Australian Championships Scores



2017 National MTBO Series Elite Standings

2017 National MTBO Series Masters Standings

2017 National MTBO Series Individual Standings


2016 Final Standings… Individual & Elite, Masters and State

2015 Final Standings – Individuals, Elite, Masters and State
2014 Final Standings – Individuals, Elite and Masters
2013 Final Standings – Elite and Masters
2012 Final Standings – Elite and Masters
2011 Final Standings – Elite and Masters
2010 Final Standings – Elite and Masters
2009 Final Standings – Individuals and Teams
2008 Final Standings – Individual and Teams


Australian Orienteer Annual 2015



Australian MTBO Long Distance Champions

Australian MTBO Middle Distance Champions

Australian MTBO Sprint Champions

Australian MTBO Champs Long Events