Ben Mather and Rowena Fry dominate Tasmanian MTBO championships

Shane Jenkins2006 Archive

Ben Mather and Rowena Fry today repeated their 2005 wins in the Tasmanian MTBO championships, held on a new map at Virginstowe State Forest in northern Tasmania. Matt Hope went into the competition with high hopes and a new Yeti bike, but Mather’s experience and strength allowed him an easy win in the 27 Km long course.

Rowena Fry’s win in the women’s event was quite decisive, winning easily from Sussan Best and Rachel Walker; she also had the fastest time over the 22 Km course, one second in front of  veteran’s class winner Bernard Walker, who won the day’s most popular class from Simon Phillips and Craig Saunders.

Other class winners were Vicki Campbell (women’s veteran), John Brammall (men’s super veteran), and Oscar Phillips (men’s sub-junior)