Bushrangers team announced

shanej2006 Archive

Orienteering Australia has announced the Bushrangers team to tackle New Zealand in the first of the 2007 Test Matches. The team is as follows:


Anna Sheldon
Briohny Davey
Grace Elson
Kathryn Ewels
Jasmine Neve
Vanessa Round
Reserve: Kirsten Fairfax


Julian Dent
Robbie Preston
Dave Meyer
Ryan Smyth
Gareth Candy (subject to satisfactory fitness)
Simon Uphill
Reserve: Ben Rattray

The Test Matches will be held over a series of races on 3-5 February near Taupo in New Zealand

The team combines a mix of runners with senior World Championship experience as well as a number of up-and-coming athletes. In the latter category are Ryan Smyth, Simon Uphill, Jasmine Neve and Vanessa Round, all of whom represented Australia at the junior world championships this year.  Ryan and Vanessa are the current Australian junior long distance champions.

Coach Tom Quayle expressed delight about the team, commenting that “although this team is young, it contains an impressive mix of experience and talent. I expect we’ll give the Kiwis a serious run for their money”.

OA congratulates those selected athletes. Tom Quayle will be in contact with each of you shortly.