National Senior Squad and High Performance Group announced


Orienteering Australia has announced the National Senior Squad (NSS) and High Performance Group (HPG) for 2007.  There are a number of changes to both teams.

The NSS consists of 13 men and 13 women.  Into the men’s squad come promising juniors Ryan Smyth (Australian M20 champion), Simon Uppill (Victorian middle distance champion) and Matt Parton (6th in the Junior World Championship sprint race).

Notable entries to the the women’s squad include Vanessa Round (Australian W20 chamption) and proven WOC performers Natasha Key and Tracy Bluett, both making comebacks after a year off due to pregnancy.

The HPG, which recognises superior athletes contains 3 men and 3 women.  The men’s team is unchanged from last year and includes Dave Shepherd, Troy de Haas and Julian Dent.

The women’s team is headed by World Sprint Champion Hanny Allston and includes her two relay team mates from the World Championship, Jo Allison and Grace Elson.

NSS – Men

Troy de Haas,
Dave Shepherd
Rob Walter
Julian Dent
Rob Preston
Eric Morris
Kerrin Rattray
Adrian Jackson
Bruce Arthur
Gareth Candy
Ryan Smyth
Simon Uppill
Matt Parton

NSS – Women

Hanny Allston
Grace Elson
Jo Allison
Anna Sheldon
Susanne Casanova
Kathryn Ewels
Briohny Davey
Alison Jones
Tracy Bluett
Natasha Key
Jasmine Neve
Vanessa Round
Julia Davies


Hanny Allston, Grace Elson, Jo Allison, Julian Dent, Troy de Haas, David Shepherd