Alex Randall 18th in Long Distance Final

Shane Jenkins2007 Archive

Alex Randall on the way to his 18th place

Alex Randall on the way to his 18th place

Weather conditions this morning turned out to be different to previous days with mist being the order of the day but the rain held off for the competition.

Alex Randall placed an extremely good 18th overall (96.57) in the 35 Km A final after losing 4 minutes on an early control which saw him placed in the forties at that stage.  Russia’s Ruslan Gritsan won in a time of 86:48 followed by Denmark’s Lasse Brun Pedersen, with local favorite Jaroslav Rygl placing third.  Torbjoern Gasbjerg of Denmark rode the third fastest time but unfortunately left the start 1 minute late and was relegated to 6th on appeal.

Paul Darvodelsky navigated really well again to place 33rd with a time of 102 minutes, while David Simpfendorfer had a disappointing ride to finish 53rd in 115 minutes.  New Zealand’s Michal Glowacki placed 44th in 107 minutes. The winning times for this long event was short by some 20 minutes.

In the Women’s 29 Km race, Thorlene Egerton in her first WOC rode a strong race to place 33rdin a time 110 minutes.  The consistent Michaela Gigon (Austria)  took her first gold of the carnival with a time of 92 minutes, 2 minutes ahead of Ksenia Chernkyh (Russia) who obtained her 3rd individual medal, followed by Christine Schaffner (Switzerland).

Paul Darvodelsky

Paul Darvodelsky

The men’s B final, the same as the women’s course was won in a time of 80 minutes.  Tony Clark placed 10th with a consistent ride in a time of 91 minutes and David Wood was 13th in 93 minutes.  David assisted an injured competitor on the course thus losing some time.

Tomorrows men’s relay has 32 teams and Australian teams and running order are:

Paul Darvodelsky

David Simpfendorfer

Alex Randall


Tony Clark

David Wood

Thorlene Egerton