Anna & Hanny through to Long Final

shanej2007 Archive

Yesterday the 2007 World Orienteering Championships kicked off with the qualification for the sprint distance.  Today the long distance endurance athletes had their chance to prove themselves worthy of a spot in the final to be raced on Thursday.  Luckily the morning saw some overcast weather to keep temperatures in the mild 20’s, and competitors will appreciate being able to conserve as much energy as possible for the final races starting later in the week.

The Long qualification area “Pidgirtsi” was a perfect test for the competitors, as they will face similar terrain in the final.  Steep gully systems falling off plateaus and a large track network are typical of this physically testing terrain.

It was a disappointing day for the Aussie men, with both David Shepherd and Reuben Smith unable to qualify.  Shepherd was just squeezed out by 4 seconds in a very competitive heat won by the Swiss star Matthias Merz.  Reuben Smith missed out on qualifying in heat C which was won by the young Frenchmen Philippe Adamski, showing the current depth of quality in the French men’s team. Marc Lauenstein, multiple long distance podium runner, showed he is a real threat for the win in 2007 by winning heat A.

The Australian women continued to show their strength with Anna Sheldon and Hanny Allston both qualifying well.  Anna Sheldon was impressive in taking 6th place in heat C, a fantastic run and showing her real potential after missing out yesterday in the sprint qualification.  Hanny Allston did not have her best run but was still able to qualify in 10th place.  Kathryn Ewels was unable to keep up her form from the sprint distance and missed qualification in a heat full of talent, won by Simone Niggli almost 3 minutes ahead of Finland’s Minna Kauppi.


Men’s Heats – 8.9 km

Heat A   Heat B   Heat C  
Marc Lauenstein SUI 57:40   Matthias Merz SUI 54:36 Philippe Adamski        FRA 57:28  
Mikhail MamleevITA 58:04


Yurii Omelchenko UKR 55:57   Roman Efimov            SWE 59:14  
Valentin Novikov




Andrey Khramov          RUS 56:00   Lukas Bartak            SLO 1:01:26  
    16 David Shepherd


24 Reuben Smith


Bracket equals time ahead (+) or behind (-) the last qualifier.

Women’s Heats – 5.8-5.9km

Heat A   Heat B   Heat C  
Simone Niggli SUI 43:25


Lea Muller SUI 46:36


Anne Margrethe Hausken NOR 47:52


Minna Kauppi FIN




Julia Novikova




Heli Jukkola




Tatyana Riabkina




Signe Soes




Lina Persson




20 Kathryn Ewels




10 Hanny Allston




6 Anna Sheldon 




The top 15 in each heat qualify for the final to be held on Thursday 23rd.

For more personal appraisals of the day be sure to check out the Australian Team Blog