2008 – the inaugural National MTB-O Series

Shane Jenkins2008 Archive

2008 – the inaugural National MTB-O Series

This year’s mountain bike orienteering schedule will focus on three rounds of the National MTB-O Series – one in Victoria in April, the second in Queensland in late September, and the third in ACT in November.

The format will include sprint, middle and long distance races. Four divisions – M21E, W21E, M17-20E, W17-20E – will contest 8 races over the 3-round series. In addition to the youth and senior classes, all junior and masters classes will be contested during these events.

With the 2008 MTB WOC and the inaugural MTB JWOC staged at the same time in Ostroda Poland from August 24th to August 31st, Round 1 in Victoria will be the primary Selection Trials for Poland.

With all three existing mtb-o trophies comfortably lodged in Victoria again, 2008 will see the Victorian Nuggets try for the “double” – best elite foot and mtb-o orienteers in Australia.

Rules    The existing rules successfully used in the NOL foot-o competition will generally apply in the National MTB-O Series.

Individual Competition

Individual scoring in M21E, W21E, M17-20E, and W17-20E divisions will be the same as in the foot NOL. The table sets out how points can be scored in each of the 8 races.

Placing             Points               Placing             Points
1st                     30                     14th                   12
2nd                   27                     15th                   11
3rd                     24                     16th                  10
4th                     22                     17th                     9
5th                     21                     18th                     8
6th                    20                     19th                      7
7th                     19                     20th                     6
8th                     18                     21st                     5
9th                     17                     22nd                    4
10th                   16                     23rd                     3
11th                   15                     24th                     2
12th                   14                     25th                     1
13th                   13                     26th or below      0

In each age class the best five (5) results over the eight races for the year will be counted. There is no limit to the number of state competitors who may enter and score points in M21E, W21E, M17-20E and W17-20E.

Team Competition

The seven state-based teams in the competition are: Canberra Cockatoos, NSW Stingers, Queensland Cyclones, Southern Arrows, Tasmanian Foresters, Victorian Nuggets and Western Nomads.

Since 2008 is the first year of the competition, only the top two (2) rider’s times from a state in each of the age classes will be summed. If only one state rider has recorded a time, they are ranked based on that result alone. After each event, points from each of the four divisions will be summed to give the National League Team Scores.

Placing             Points
1st                     9
2nd                    7
3rd                     5
4th                     4
5th                     3
6th                     2
7th                     1

Blake Gordon