Australian Team for WOC 2008

shanej2008 Archive

Orienteering Australia has selected the team to compete at the 2008 World Orienteering Championships in July in the Czech Republic.

The team includes first timers Jasmine Neve, Simon Uppill and Vanessa Round, all of whom have extensive experience at Junior World Championship level.  Kerrin Rattray returns to the team after an absence of a year.

The full team is:

Men: Julian Dent, Kerrin Rattray, Dave Shepherd, Simon Uppill

Women: Jo Allison, Grace Elson, Kathryn Ewels,  Jasmine Neve, Vanessa Round

Reserves have also been named, being William Hawkins (who lives in the US and recently returned for the selection trials in Tasmania) and Anna Sheldon.

The races that each athlete will run will be determined at a later date by the team’s coaches.

The World Championships will be held in and around Olomouc (pronounced Olla-moats), a town of approximately 100,000 in the western part of the Czech Republic.  Racing commences on 13 July with the sprint races and finishes on 20 July with the relay. The WOC website

Paul Liggins
Chair of selectors