2009 MTBO National Series

shanej2009 Archive

2009 National MTBO Series


The 2009 Australian MTBO schedule will focus on 3 rounds of the 2nd National MTBO Series.


Round 1 – April 25 (Middle), 26 (Long) – Woodend, Victoria (Selection Trial for MTB WOC)

Round 2 – June 6 (Sprint), 7 (Long), 8 (Middle) – Mt Gambier, SA (National Championships)

Round 3 – September 5 (Middle), 6 (Long) – Beerburrum, Queensland (Final Round)


Four divisions – M21E, W21E, M17-20E, W17-20E – will contest 7 races over the 3-round series. In addition to the senior and youth classes, junior (-14,-16) and masters classes (40-, 50-, 60-, 70+) will be contested during these events. With the 2009 MTB WOC staged from August 9th to August 16th in Israel, Round 1 inVictoria will be the Selection Trials for Israel.


Rules   The 2008 OA Protocols, Guidelines and Rules for MTBO will apply. The existing rules successfully used in the NOL foot-o competition will generally apply in this MTBO Series.


Individual Competition

Individual scoring in M21E, W21E, M17-20E, and W17-20E divisions will be the same as in the foot NOL. The table sets out how points can be scored in each of the 8 races.


Placing             Points               Placing             Points

1st                     30                     14th                   12

2nd                   27                     15th                   11

3rd                     24                     16th                   10

4th                     22                     17th                     9

5th                     21                     18th                     8

6th                    20                     19th                     7

7th                     19                     20th                     6

8th                     18                     21st                     5

9th                     17                     22nd                     4

10th                   16                     23rd                     3

11th                   15                     24th                     2

12th                   14                     25th                     1

13th                   13                     26th or below       0

In each age class the best five (5) results over the eight races for the year will be counted. There is no limit to the number of state competitors who may enter and score points in M21E, W21E, M17-20E and W17-20E.


Team Competition

The state-based teams in the competition are: Canberra Cockatoos, NSW Stingers, Queensland Storm, Southern Arrows, Tasmanian Foresters, Victorian Nuggets and Western Nomads.

Since 2009 is the second year of the competition, the top two (2) rider’s times from a state in each of the age classes will be summed in the unofficial ranking. If only one state rider has recorded a time, that state is ranked based on that result alone. After each event, points from each of the four divisions will be summed to give the National League Team Scores.


Placing             Points

1st                     9

2nd                    7

3rd                     5

4th                     4

5th                     3

6th                     2

7th                     1


Blake Gordon, OA MTBO Committee                                                                   January, 2009