European MTBO Championships Continue

Andrew Power2009 Archive

The European MTBO men’s long event championship saw Denmark, the host nation have a sensational result with their 6 riders finishing in the top 10 of the 82 strong field. They also took the quinella, this time with Lasse Brun Pederson (100 minutes) having a 2 minute victory over Erik Skovgaard Knusden. Denmark’s success is not unexpected as the men won the world championship relay last year.   Alex Randall finished 24th in 109 minutes, while Anthony Darr came 68th in 138 minutes.

Alex Randall

Alex Randall

Russia’s Nadiya Mikryukova won the women’s gold in 92 minutes, with Austrian Sonya Zinkl breaking into the medals for the first time in a major international event in 2nd (94 mins) just ahead of her compatriot Michi Gigon. Estonia’s Maret Vaher was 4th. South Aussies will remember her brother Sander who studied here. The increasing depth of women’s MTBO was reflected in the 9 nations represented in the top 10 today.

In the Junior Worlds the two 4th placegetters from yesterday’s middle distance climbed to the top of the podium today.   Austria’s Kevin Haselsberger and the Finn Susanna Laurila were the delighted winners. 2nd place for Kaisu Yli-Peltola gave her 2 silvers and a bronze in the individual events.  Svetlana Poverina, winner of both the sprint and middle had to settle for 4th while Britain’s Emily Benham was again on the podium in 5th.

Adrian Jackson had a mechanical in day 4 of the TransGermany event busting a derailleur and having to limp to the finish albeit still in 40th spot, but with major time loss, being 51 minutes behind the winner.  On day 5 he pulled back some time finishing in 26th position in 4hrs 02, just 13 minutes behind the winner.