2009 National MTBO Rankings

Shane Jenkins2010 Archive

In 2009 Australia staged twelve ranking events (8 Long Distance and 4 Middle Distance) over the states.

See the attached file for rankings: 2009NatRankOAOld.xls

The decision of the OA MTBO Committee confirmed at the Australian Championships was to base the rankings on the best two races for each rider who rode in more than one state or rode the two ranking races at the national championships. No short distance race results were used to rank riders as small differences in time distort the time-behind-the-winner calculations. This resulted in far fewer riders being ranked nationally in 2009, but the committee agreed this reflects the new status of National Ranking. Participation at three rounds of the National MTBO Series, selection trials for MTB WOC and JWOC, and increased interstate travel should see the number ranked increase in 2010. Some interesting notes from the 2009 rankings

  • The number of riders ranked in the top three:VIC (17), SA (9), NSW (3), ACT (3), TAS (2), QLD (1) with the nationals staged on the SA/Vic border.
  • Winners to repeat their top 2008 ranking were Adrian Jackson (M21-E), Robert Prentice (M50-A), Rick Armstrong (M60-A), John Sheahan (M70+A), Kathy Liley (W60-A) and Joyce Rowlands (W70+A). With the 2010 National MTBO Series including the Masters Series, as well as the Elite Series, the already keen Masters competition should be enhanced.
  • The margins between first and second place was 0 to 5 points in 9 out of the 13 classes – showing the level of interstate competition is ramping up in many classes.
  • No junior women are ranked in 2009 as they have not participated in sufficient events.

2009 Ranking Criteria

  1. A rider must complete 2 championship races in 2009 – the finalranking calculated by averaging the best two results – that come from either the two national championship (Al, Am) races or two state championships (one counted race must come from an interstate race outside one’s home state).
  2. The winner of a race earns 100 points with all other riders ranked higher (above 100) in comparison with the winner.
  3. No sprint race results to be used in the calculation of national mtbo rankings in 2009.
  4. Though international riders (NZL) participated in several championship races and raised the competitive standard of the events, they were not included in the National Ranking lists.

Blake Gordon, OA  MTBO Statistician