Dent and Neve continue their domination at Gudgenby

shanej2010 Archive

Julian Dent - NOL 1 BiggaJulian Dent showed again that he is in impressive form with a clear victory in today’s event at Gudgenby Homestead. In the Senior Men’s Elite class Dent toppled the rest of the field – the closest was Canberran Dave Shepherd who was nearly four minutes behind Dent’s time. The complex granite terrain provided sections of extremely technical orienteering which suited Dent’s strength and skill in the forest. Simon Uppill was three seconds behind Shepherd in third place.

IMG_1290In the Women’s Elite Jasmine Neve won again today which has set her up extremely well for the final two days of easter twenty10 competition. NSW’s Tracy Marsh made amends for a disappointing run yesterday to claim the silver spot – this was Marsh’s best National League result in recent times. Vanessa Round of the Southern Arrows led early on in the race but faded to finish in third.

The surprise win of the day came in the Junior Women’s Elite class. Claire Butler of Tasmania claimed her best ever result at the national level with a 44 second win over Queensland’s Lillian Burrill. These two girls were clearly better than their counterparts in being able to handle the tough terrain as Brea Pearce in third position was a further 4 minutes adrift.

-1Lachlan Dow of the ACT had a scintillating run in the Men’s Junior Elite class. He held a 2 minute and 20 second margin over second place’s Kurt Neumann of Queensland. Dow was pleased with today’s victory as he has been battling some ankle problems recently. Oliver Poland (still only 15 years of age) again proved his ability by rounding out the placings.

With two more days of competition remaining, the junior elites are looking to impress the national selectors and are fighting for spots on the Australian team to compete at the Junior World Orienteering Championships in Denmark later this year.

A highlight of the day was the Voice of the Forest’s prize giving ceremony which gave all competitors a chance to claim a prize. OA president Bill Jones and wife Kerryne have been declared “Mr and Mrs Average” – and the closest participants today to Mr Average’s time was Eric Wainright and to Mrs Average’s was Cathy Hogg. There were Captain Compass t shirts on offer, envirosax bags, easter twenty10 t shirts and Outer Edge magazine subscriptions.Stay tuned to Voice of the Forest for the final episode of the Captain Compass radio serial!


All classes

All classes – splits

Elite splits

Elite results

Elite Results available here on Winsplits

FRIDAY 2nd April – Family Teams Competition and Public Prologue

Team Zafelian has taken out this year’s Family Teams orienteering competition, held on a sunny day in Canberra’s centre. The team consisted of elite runners Julian Dent, Felicity Brown and Jose Zapata (co-Finish Manager at this year’s easter twenty10 carnival). All three live together in Canberra’s north and were favourites for the race. The Hill Family (Matthew, Barbara, Daniel) raced well to secure second spot and the ever present Uppill family from South Australia came in third. The Family Teams race also contains a ‘handicap’ competition aligning with the traditional Family Relays and this year the place getters were: The Hill Family, The Uppill Family and The Blatchfords from Newcastle.


In the Public Prologue competitors were given the opportunity to race against the nation’s best – the courses for both the Elite and Public Prologue were the same. In the Long Course it was Wesley Dose who was best able to match the pace clocking 18:38 with junior Brodie Nankervis not far behind on 18:52. It was a good day for the Nankervis family as Ashley Nankervis won the Medium Course with a competitive time of 18:52. Simon Phillips and Jenny Enderby were fastest seniors around the 3.2km course. On the Short Course it was Adrian Uppill who showed the most class taking only 13:12 to zip around the 2.3km course.


Easter twenty10 organisers are keen to know your thoughts on this year’s trial format for the Prologue and Family Teams races. Please complete a survey at registration or see Shannon Jones for more information.