Rob Vincent and Adrian Jackson major award winners

Bernard Walker2010 Archive

NSW orienteer Rob Vincent (pictured) was the recipient of the Silva Award for Services to Orienteering at the OA annual presentation of awards and double World MTBO Championship gold medallist Adrian Jackson from Victoria was 2009 Athlete of the Year.


Rob Vincent

QLD’s Eric Andrews received the David Hogg Award for Services to Event Management, Tasmania’s Jessica Fuller-Smith was the Silva Award winner for Services to Coaching, Jenny Bourne was Silva Orienteer of the Year, and the Bushflyers Club in the ACT was the Australian champion club at the Easter carnival.

Rob Vincent, a long time stalwart of Newcastle Orienteering Club, was National Controller for the 2007 World Junior Championships and the 2009 World Masters Orienteering Championships and overall Controller for the 2004 Australian Championships Carnival, the 2007 Australian Championships Carnival and the 2008 Australian 3 Days in NSW.

Eric Andrews has been involved in orienteering for more than 30 years, as a competitor, administrator, selector, technical director, event organiser and mapper. He has been event coordinator of several of Australia’s largest orienteering carnivals.

Jessica Fuller-Smith did an outstanding job as coach of the Tasmanian schools team in 2008 and 2009 to receive the Silva Award for Services to Coaching.

WMOC W55 champion Jenny Bourne was the Silva Orienteer of the Year, derived from points awarded in national and state championships in 2009 in the M16 and W16 and older age groups.

The Bushflyers club in the ACT for the first time won the Australian champion club trophy, based on points in the the first two days of the Easter 3 Days.

The top ten clubs were Bushflyers ACT 43, Esk Valley Tasmania 34, Australopers Tasmania 32, Red Roos ACT 31, Big Foot NSW 31, Garingal NSW 31, Ugly Gully QLD 30, Enoggeroos QLD 27, Newcastle NSW 23, Wellington Ranges Tasmania 23.