Phillips and McComb Win 2010 Tasmanian Sprint Distance Championships

Shane Jenkins2010 Archive

The 2010 Tasmanian Sprint Distance Championships were held Sunday may 30th at Austins Ferry in Hobart’s northern suburbs. Organising club Wellington Ranges presented a new map prepared by Patrick Saile that featured an intricate track network within the grounds of St Virgils College and the surrounding parkland. Oscar Phillips (Esk Valley) and Cathy McComb (Australopers) emerged victorious to claim the championship titles following the conduct of a qualification race to determine start order for the actual championship race.

Phillips finished in front of Wellington Ranges club mates Patrick Watts & Callum Fagg, whereas McComb edged out JWOC representative Claire Butler. In the W17-20 divsion, Emma Campbell was a clear winner and in the M17-20 divsion, Tom Goddard edged out Stewart Lawrie.

The most interesting result of the day was in the M16 division where Shaun McDonough and Brodie Nankervis dead-heated for first. Interestingly, this is the third tie for first Brodie has been in over the last 12 months.

Full results are available here.