Orienteering Australia major award winners announced

Bernard Walker2011 Archive

Orienteering Australia major award winners were announced by OA President Bill Jones at the awards ceremony today concluding the Frazzle Rock Three Days Easter Carnival in Western Australia.

The Silva Award for Services to Orienteering was awarded to Bob Mouatt from the ACT for his many years of outstanding service to orienteering in Australia. Bob, who is currently OA media officer and 2011 Australian Championships meet manager, has served in many capacities including OA President, major meet director on many occasions, writer of operational rules and plans, media and promotions and results officer, photographer. Last year Bob was awarded an OAM for his services to orienteering.

The 2010 Athlete of the Year was World Mountain Bike Orienteering champion Adrian Jackson of Victoria. The Silva Orienteer of the Year based on age-sex rankings was M55 Geoff Lawford of the ACT.

The David Hogg Award for Event Management went to outstanding long serving South Australian organiser and administrator Peter Cutten who was the meet manager for the very successful 2010 Australian Championships carnival in South Australia. Peter has been a member of the Wallaringa Orienteering Club since its inception 32 years ago and held every position in the club at one time or other, as well as being President of OASA in 1985 and 1986.

The Silva Coach of the Year was South Australian and Darwin elite orienteer Susanne Casanova who has a long track record in coaching and motivating juniors and older orienteers alike and has been doing an excellent job in Darwin in passing on her coaching tips to a wide audience in the Top End newsletter and in running coaching workshops. Prior to moving to Darwin Susanne was her club coach for a number of years, OASA joint coaching coordinator from 2006-2008 and a coaching assistant at a number of national training camps.

The 2011 Australian Champion Club, decided from the results of Days 1 and 2 of the Australian Three Days carnival was Garingal from NSW with 34 points, with WOW from WA second with 32 and Ugly Gully from QLD third with 31 points.