2011 Australian Sprint Championships

shanej2011 Archive

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAToday saw a fantastic new venue added to sprint orienteering in WA and Australia.

Mandjar Bay map forms part of the Mandurah Foreshore redevelopment that includes canals, footbridges and dolphins on a good day.

Racing was very close in the M17-20E today with Lachlan Dow stealing the win off local boy Oscar McNulty by 3 seconds in a time of 16:53. Ian Lawford finished third in a time of 17:11. Lachlan Dow and Oscar McNulty’s times would have placed them in first and second on the senior leaderboard.

In the Women’s Junior Elite race Belinda Lawford had a comfortable win in a time of 17:52, Lillian Burrell finished second in 19:18 and Jacqui Doyle sqeezed into third place in a time of 20:10.

In the Men’s Elite race Simon Uphill took ou the title in a time of 17:07 followed by Grant Bluett  in 17:18 and Bruce Arthur taking third in 17:40

Kathryn Ewels showed her dominance on the Women’s Elite course today with a clear victory.  Kathryn finished in a time of 16:24, some 39 secs clear of Mace Neve and Rachel Effeney rounded out the podium in a time of 17:09