MTBO Championships summary

Andrew Power2011 Archive

The MTBO Championships were held this weekend in glorious weather in and around Beechworth, Victoria.

Steven Cusworth dominated the elite men winning all three individual titles while New Zealand superstar Maquita Gelderman did similiarly in the women.  Melanie Simpson won the Australian long championship resident trophy with a good second place while it was no suprise that the evergreen Carolyn Jackson was second in the ulta detailed middle distance event held on a 1:5,000 map of Rowdy Flat.  Tassie star Oscar Phillips also took out the trifecta in M20, but had Chris Firman, Tom Goddard and Heath Jamieson all close behind.  That good form augurs well for Oscar’s move to M21 next year.  Rebecca Sunley also won all races in W20 but the long was only a 4 second margin over her sister Jasmine.   The New Zealnd contingent did well in the veteran classes also, with their W50 runners even filling all places in the long.   All races were run on excellent maps well suited to the specific disciplines.    Victoria took home the interstate trophy with New south Wales being second. Many thanks to Albury-Wodonga and ACTO for the well run weekend that also inluded catering for all meals.

Results and splits are now available at the OA Results page

The Championships season continues next weekend with the NSW Championships.