Melanie Simpson and Ricky Thackray Top the 2011 National MTBO Series

Shane Jenkins2011 Archive

rickyTwo convincing wins each at Round 4 in Oberon NSW gave Melanie Simpson (NSW Stingers) and Ricky Thackray (WA Nomads) wins in the Elite MTBO Division for the 2011 season.  Victoria’s Carolyn Jackson and Steven Cusworth took second placings, ahead of Damian Welbourne (NSW) and Mary Fien (NSW), last years’ winner of W21-E.

Tasmania’s Oscar Phillips and Victoria’s Jasmine Sunley took out the M-20 and W-20 honours respectively in the junior elite ranks.

In the Elite Team Rankings  Victoria’s depth proved decisive  with Victorian Nuggets 170, NSW Stingers 112, Queensland Storm 87, WA Nomads 52, and ACT 25.

Strong competition from visiting New Zealand riders, a feature of the last 5 years, will make the upcoming Otago MTBO Festival – the ANZ Challenge – in early January 2012 a terrific competition.

In the Masters MTBO Division, winners came from 3 different states: Craig Steffens (Qld, M40-), Carolyn Matthews (NSW, W40-), Rob Prentice (NSW, M50-), Heather Leslie (Vic, W50-), Rick Armstrong (Vic, M60-), Kathy Liley (Vic, W60-), Graham Fowler (NSW, M70+), and Joyce Rowlands (Vic, W70+). The strong New Zealand contingent in W50-, M40- and  M60- lifted the Masters competition to new heights.

The Masters Teams Rankings saw the Victorian Nuggets establish a new record 434 points, with NSW Stingers 2nd (257), edging Queensland Storm into 3rd (221), with ACT (66), SA and WA (50) and WA (18).

The full 2011 National League Team and Individual Standings are now published.
Round 1 of the 2012 National MTBO Series and the Selection Trials for Hungary will be staged at Maryborough and Newstead, Victoria on 28-29 April.

Blake Gordon