Rachel Effeney wins Sprint the Bay! Matt Parton takes third.

Kay Haarsma2012 Archive

racheleffeney_WOC2011SprintQual 2Congratulations to Rachel Effeney (QLD) for winning women’s elite in the 6 race “Sprint the Bay”in New Zealand.

As predicted the hilly, forested stage 5 saw many people lose major time.  Rachel Effeney lost the leaders yellow jersey and the leading 4 men, including 2nd placed Oscar McNulty (WA) plummeted down the order.

In a drama packed last stage Rachel started 8 seconds in arrears of Angela Simpson (NZ). In this last stage the 2 leaders started together but did two initial loops in different orders before coming together with the same controls to the finish.  When Rachel punched at the final control and Angela wasn’t in view the commentator declared her the victor. Afterwards it was found that Angela had missed the first control and another leading contender, Greta Knudsen had unfortunately taken a men’s course map, resulting in a DNF for both. Lizzie Ingham, the fastest on stage 6, took 2nd place overall.

An outstanding result for Rachel against quality opposition.  She won the first 4 stages and then was 6th and 2nd today. Runner-up Lizzie Ingham was 11th in the sprint at WOC 2011. Angela Simpson was 6th in the World Universities sprint in 2010; again 6th in sprint at Jwoc 2011 and won STD last year.  Rachel qualified for the final and was 35th in her WOC debut in the sprint last year.

The men’s final stage had plenty of speed but no changes in the leaders. Victory overall went to Toby Scott (NZ), who had leapfrogged from 5th to first during stage 5 in the morning race. Tom Reynolds (NZ)retained 2ndplace and NSW’s Matt Parton maintained his composure to keep 3rdplace.    Toby’s individual stage results were: 9th, 6, 7, 6, 1, 5.

A great result for Matt based on many consistent runs at the pointy end, with his individual stage results being 22nd, 8, 5, 2, 3, 10.  Lachy Dow also performed really well to be the next leading Aussie in 6th, less than a minute behind Matt.

MEN:  1) T Scott (Nzl) 1h34m35s,  2) T Reynolds (Nzl) 1h35m53s,  3) M Parton (Aus) 1h36m36s. 6) L Dow 1h37m.31

WOMEN:  1) R Effeney (Aus)  1h32m56, 2) L Ingham (Nzl) 1h34m11s, 3) K Morrison (Nzl) 1h38m04s. 6) H Allston

Other overall Australian results were:

Men:   8th I Lawford, 11 B Keeley, 12 O McNulty, 15 B Arthur, 17 M Scown, 21 K Gregory, 25 O Mitchell, 28 M McQuire  DNF G Bluett, E Barr, J Russell.  60 starters.

Women:   7th A Prendergast, 9 L Grant, 10 M Neve, 12 B Lawford, 14 I Barr, 15 S Jones, 16 K Effeney, 22 H Muir, 23 E Cantwell. 38 starters.

Most of the Australian squad are staying on in NZ with coaches Jim Russell and Hanny Allston for a training camp for the next 6 days.