Kay Haarsma2012 Archive

RickyT]The MTBO Australian team for the World Championships in Hungary in August is:


Elite Men: 

Steve Cusworth (VIC)

Oscar Phillips (TAS)

Alex Randall (Vic) – subject to fitness

Ricky Thackray (WA)


Elite Women:

Melanie Simpson (NSW)


Junior Men:

Chris Firman (QLD)
Marc Gluskie (TAS)
Tom Goddard (TAS)
Heath Jamieson (VIC)

Karl Withers (QLD)


Alex Randall is recovering from a broken collarbone incurred a week before the trials.

Oscar Phillips has “graduated” from the junior mtbo team last year to the WOC team.  Melanie Simpson (4th WOC) and Steve Cusworth (5th WOC) are both extremely fit and capable of breaking into the top 10 this year. Ricky Thackray, winner of the elite national series in 2011, will be making his World Championship debut.

Heath2012 - CopyAlso new to the team are juniors Heath Jamieson and Karl Withers.  Chris and Marc will be competing at their 3rd JWOC, while it is the second for Tom Goddard.

Coach is WA’s Ian Dalton and co-managers are Peter and Carolyn Cusworth from Victoria.

Note: Any Aussies heading over to the World Masters MTBO Championships in Hungary at the same time may be able to take advantage of the travel and race insurance package taken out by our team.  For more details contact Kay Haarsma.

Selectors were:  Ian Dalton, Paul Darvodelsky,  Kay Haarsma, Carolyn Jackson.