Australian Schools Honour Team and Final Schools Championships Pointscores

Bernard Walker2012 Archive

At the Australian Schools Championships presentation dinner last night at the Tidal Waters Resort in St Helens the Australian Schools Honour team was announced. It is:

Junior Girls
Hannah Goddard TAS
Georgia Jones NSW
Asha Steer VIC
Heather Burridge QLD

Junior Boys
Jarrah Day TAS
Patrick Jaffe VIC
Stephen Melhuish ACT
Daniel Hill NSW

Senior Girls
Michele Dawson NSW
Anna Dowling TAS
Nicola Blatchford NSW
Rebecca Butler TAS

Senior Boys
Brodie Nankervis TAS
Shaun McDonough TAS
Oliver Poland ACT
Matt Doyle VIC

Congratulations to all our junior orienteers that were selected in the Honour Team. They will be in with a strong chance of selection in the Australian Schools team to take on New Zealand next January during the Oceania 2013 Carnival. Selection races for the Australian Schools team will also include results from the Australian Long Distance Championships on Saturday.

The Examiner newspaper has published a story online about Tasmania’s victory in the Australian Schools Championships.

The final pointscores for the Australian Schools Championships are:

1st Tasmania 53 points
2nd New South Wales 36 points
2nd Queensland 36 points
4th Victoria 35 points
5th Australian Capital Territory 27 points
5th South Australia 27 points
7th Western Australia 5 points

The final pointscores for the Southern Cross Junior Challenge are:

1st New Zealand 61 points
2nd Tasmania 54 points
3rd New South Wales 37 points
4th Queensland 36 points
5th Victoria 35 points
6th South Australia 28 points
7th Australian Capital Territory 27 points
8th Western Australia 5 points