Australian MTBO Team announced.

Shane Jenkins2014 Archive

Australian MTBO team for World Championships in Bialystok, Poland from August 24-31.
Elite – Callum Fagg (TAS) Chris Firman (QLD) Alex Randall (VIC);
Juniors – Tim Jackson (VIC) Angus Robinson (VIC) Karl Withers (QLD)

Coach: Piotr Czajkowski Manager: Murray Withers

From Craig Steffens (MTBO Chair of selectors)

13thMay2014 Natasha Sparg

Callum Fagg & Natasha Sparg.

The first round of the MTBO National League was held near Stanthorpe (QLD) last weekend in conjunction with the Queensland Championships. The middle was held on the “Amiens” map and the long on “Passchendaele,” with riders appreciating the quality maps and course setting.

Chris Firman rode strongly to win both men’s elite events, ahead of Alex Randall (V) and Ricky Thackray (WA) who shared the placings each day but in different order. Carolyn Jackson (V) won the middle event ahead of Percival Cass (Q) and Natasha Sparg (WA). However it was Natasha who took home the long championship victory.
In the 20’s class the victories were shared by Jwoc team members Karl Withers (Q) and Angus Robinson (V) in the men whilst outstanding junior Gaby Withers won both W20 events.

In the veteran classes the following riders managed to win both events in their class: Andrea Harris (Q) W60; Neil Kerr (Q) M40; Peter Cusworth (V) M60 and Tim Hackney (NSW) M70.

In M21 NOL standings Queensland (18 points) has taken the initial lead ahead of Western Australia (14) and Victoria (10). In W21 WA leads on 14 points from Victoria on 9 points. Victoria leads M20 while Queensland is dominant in W20. The scores for all classes can be accessed via:

The second NOL round is in Alice Springs from June 14-16 and the third in WA in October.

Australia v New Zealand MTBO Challenge in conjunction with Australian & Oceania Championships. If you are in the following age categories (M21,M40, M50, M60, M70 & W21, W50, W70) and intend competing at the Australian MTBO Championships in Alice Springs please let Craig Steffens (chair of selectors) know so you can be considered for the Challenge team. Send nomination to: – nominations closed