Silva Medal 2019

Darryl ErbacherUncategorized

Silva Medal


The Silva Medal is awarded to the Australian orienteer who best performs relative to their class in specified events.

Points are awarded for Days 1, 2 and 3 of the Australian 3-Days

Championship, the Australian Long Distance Championships, the

Australian Middle Distance Championships, the Australian Sprint

Championships, any State Championship conducted at the 3-Days carnival and

the Australian Championships Carnival and the Asia Pacific

Orienteering Championships or Oceania Championships (when

conducted in Australia) as follows: 1st – 4 points, 2nd – 3 points, 3rd –

2 points, for otherwise finishing 1 point.

The Silva Medal winner is the orienteer with the maximum number of

points accumulated from their best six events. In the event of a tie,

the Silva Medal will be determined by count back using the average of the six best winning margins.

In 2019 the relevant events will be:

  • 20 April Day 1 3-Days Scotts College

  • 21 April Day 2 3-Days Hill Park Dale

  • 22 April Day 3 3-Days Umuna

  • 26 April Australian Sprint Narrogin

  • 27 April Australian Middle Narrogin

  • 28 September Oceania Sprint Wagga

  • 29 September Australian Long Wagga

  • 5 October Oceania Long Wangaratta

  • 6 October Oceania Middle Beechworth

As there 9 qualifying events in 2019 it is expected there will be more runners than usual who will amass six wins. Winning margins will be crucial is determining the winner of the Silva Medal this year.

Progressive scores will be published at events if possible or in the evening of each event.

Darryl Erbacher

Orienteering Australia Statistician