Call for nominations for Orienteering Australia awards

blair2021 Archive, Featured News, News

Orienteering Australia makes a number of awards annually. Nominations are now called for the following awards:

  • Silva Award for Services to Orienteering
  • Silva Award for Services to Orienteering Coaching
  • David Hogg Award for Services to Event Management

Details of these awards, and the criteria for selection, are available through the OA Awards page.

Nominations are also called for new inductees for the Orienteering Australia Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame has two divisions – the athlete division to recognise outstanding performers, and the general division to recognise overall contribution to the sport. There is a limit of two inductees per year for the general division but no limit for the athlete division. Candidates are not eligible for induction into the athlete division until the fifth year after they last competed at World Championships level (i.e. 2016 or earlier for 2021 inductees).

OA recognises the significant gender imbalance in the current Hall of Fame membership and particularly encourages female nominations.

Previous unsuccessful nominations remain active and do not need to be resubmitted unless otherwise advised.

Nominations are made via State Associations and should be submitted to the OA Executive Officer by 29 January.

The Athlete of the Year award will not be made for 2020. Whilst some Australian orienteers have produced outstanding performances, notably Henry McNulty at the Norwegian Championships, OA’s view is that it would not be fair to make an award in a year in which most athletes have had little or no opportunity to compete in high-level events. We look forward to resuming this award in 2021.