2022 Silva Medal – Progress after 5 Events

Darryl ErbacherUncategorized

Silva Medal 2022

The Silva Medal is awarded to the Australian orienteer who best performs relative to their class in specified events.

Points are awarded for Days 1, 2 and 3 of the Australian 3-Days Championship, the Australian Long Distance Championships, the Australian Middle Distance Championships, the Australian Sprint Championships, any State Championship conducted at the 3-Days carnival and the Australian Championships Carnival and the Asia Pacific Orienteering Championships or Oceania Championships (when conducted in Australia) as follows: 1st – 4 points, 2nd – 3 points, 3rd – 2 points, for otherwise finishing 1 point.

The Silva Medal winner is the orienteer with the maximum number of points accumulated from their best six events. In the event of a tie, the Silva Medal will be determined by count back using the average of the six best winning margins.

In 2022 the relevant events will be:
16 April Day 1 3-Days – Reedy Creek
17 April Day 2 3-Days – Reedy Creek
18 April Day 3 3-Days – Maidenwell
24 September Victoria Middle Championships – Daylesford
25 September Australian Middle Championships – Blackwoods
30 September Australian Sprint – Sunbury
1 October Australian Long Championships – Nuggety Ridge

As there 7 qualifying events in 2022 it is expected there will be more than one runner who will amass six wins. Winning margins will be crucial is determining the winner of the Silva Medal this year.

Progressive scores will be published in the evening of each event.

After 5 events orienteers with 16 or more points are listed below. Orienteers who can still amass the maximum points are highlighted. Previous winners of the Silva Medal are annotated with an asterisk.

Marina Iskhakova RR A W40A 20 *
Rob Walter RR A M45A 19  
Grace Crane CC A W21E 19  
Debbie Davey WR N W65A 18  
Cooper Horley GO N M16A 18  
Geoff Lawford AO A M55A 17 *
Aston Key VI V M21E 17 *
Trevor Sauer SO Q M80A 16  
Toni Brown BS A W60A 16  
Jennifer Enderby NC N W50A 16 *
Bruce Arthur MF V M45A 16  

Darryl Erbacher

Orienteering Australia Statistician