2023 Silva Medal – Progress Scores after 6 Events

Darryl ErbacherUncategorized

My apologies, I omitted to include the Oceania Championships in the published progress scores for the Silva Medal in 2023.. Of course they were held this year in early January. Revised progress follows:

The Silva Medal is awarded to the Australian orienteer who best performs relative to their class in specified events.

Points are awarded for Days 1, 2 and 3 of the Australian 3-Days Championship; the Australian Championships, Oceania Championships, and Asia Pacific Championships (Sprint, Middle and Long); and any State Championship conducted at the 3-Days Carnival and the Australian Championships Carnival and the Asia Pacific Orienteering Championships or Oceania Championships (when conducted in Australia) as follows: 1st – 4 points, 2nd – 3 points, 3rd – 2 points, for otherwise finishing 1 point.

The Silva Medal winner is the orienteer with the maximum number of points accumulated from their best 6 events. In the event of a tie, the Silva Medal will be determined by count back using the average of the six best winning margins.

In 2023 the relevant events will be:

7 January Oceania Sprint – Launceston

9 January Oceania Long – Bells Marsh St Helens

11 January Oceania Middle – Hunt Tin Mine St Helens
8 April Day 1 3-Days – Highlands
9 April Day 2 3-Days – Highlands
10 April Day 3 3-Days – Glenbrook
30 September Australian Middle Championships – Peterdine North
7 October Australian Long Championships – Avon Valley
8 October Australian Sprint – Methodist Ladies College and Christ Church Grammar College

As two orienteers have already gained 24 points there will be at lease two orienteers who will amass 6 wins. Winning margins will be crucial in determining the winner of the Silva Medal..

Progressive scores will be published at events or in the evening of each event if possible .

After 6 events, 2 orienteers have maximum points (24) and 37 orienteers with 12 or more points from the first 6 events can reach 24 points if they do well in WA in October.


Darryl Erbacher

Orienteering Australia Statistician

                                Name                              Club                     Class                               Points

Euan Best EV T M16A 24  
Alex Tarr YV V M80A 24 *
Paula Shingler BF N W60A 22  
Jennifer Enderby NC N W55A 22 *
Jenny Bourne AO A W65A 21 *
Briohny Seaman WR N W40A 21  
Sophie Best TF T W18A 20  
Mace Neve RR A W35A 20  
Helen Alexander BK V W85A 19  
Cathy McComb AL T W50A 19  
Warren Key MF V M60A 18 *
Grace Crane CC A W21E 18  
Craig Dufty BO W M50A 18  
Paul Liggins AL T M55A 17  
Patrick Jaffe VI V M21E 17  
David Marshall AL T M70A 17  
Bruce Arthur MF V M45A 17  
Valerie Brammall EV T W80A 16  
Tracy Marsh BF N W45A 16  
Libby Meeking YV V W75A 16  
Jenny Hawkins BS A W75A 16  
Debbie Davey WR N W65A 15  
Brodie Nankervis TF T M21E 15  
Ann Ingwersen PO A W80A 14 *
Val Hodsdon SH N W75A 13  
Sue Hancock AL T W55A 13  
Simon Louis AL T M40A 13  
Carolyn Matthews NC N W60A 13  
Adrian Uppill OH S M70A 13  
Trevor Sauer SO Q M80A 12  
Shane Doyle UR N M55A 12  
Matthew Crane AO A M40A 12  
Martina Craig NC N W50A 12  
Maggie Mackay UR N W16A 12  
Jo Allison RR A W45A 12  
Geoff Lawford AO A M65A 12 *
Carolyn Jackson BK V W65A 12  
Caitlin Young CC A W21E 12  
Aston Key VI V M21E 12 *
Alison Radford BG V W70A 12  
  • Previous winner of Silva Medal