JWOC2007 Organisers Descend on Dubbo


Ron Pallas as Chairman, and a number of his supporting committee including International Controller Christine Brown (Tasmania), Rob Vincent (Carnival Controller) and Teams Liaison Manager Nick Dent, all met in Dubbo over the weekend to meet with the IOF’s Event Controller Urs Hofer (from Switzerland) for the first time. Joining the group were the various event course planners including former … Read More

Additions to National Junior Squad

The following orienteers have been added to the National Junior Squad following their performances during the Easter carnival: Murray Scown Evan Barr Bryan Keely Clare Brownridge The next major selection of the squad will take place after the Australian Championships in October. Blair Trewin Chair, Junior Selection Panel

Julian Dent withdraws from the team for the World Orienteering Championships


  In a blow to the Australian team Julian Dent has been forced to withdraw from the World Orienteering Champs (WOC) in Denmark in August. Julian was diagnosed with a stress fracture of the upper tibia in late March. He had hoped to return to training in time to prepare for WOC but an MRI-scan showed the fracture was more serious then … Read More

Aussies Swamp Attackpoint


Australian Orienteers have been signing up to the online training diary, www.attackpoint.org, in droves. The American-based website allows users to log their training activities online for public viewing. Being able to view each other’s training is a good motivational tool and it certainly has worked. The site also allows users to comment on each others training making for some good-natured … Read More

Chalmers and Dufty Take Out Season’s First WA Badge Event


The sun was shining, the prickles were sharpened and the kangaroos out in force in anticipation of WA’s first Badge Event of the season. The courses were well set although the map had a few interesting additional tracks and vegetation changes. In the women’s race Cath Chalmers, continuing her good form and determination, sustained an aggressive pace through scattered rock … Read More

Halden wins Tiomila after dramatic final leg


After second place in last year’s Tiomila, Norwegian club Halden is back in the winners’ circle. This year Mats Haldin’s impressive sprint finish after a dramatic battle on the last leg was enough to give the Norwegian club its seventh win in nine years. Going into the last leg Halden had a lead of one minute over a pack of … Read More

Additions to the National Senior Squad

The following people have been added to the National Senior Squad following their recent performances: Dave Meyer Orla Murray Kirsten Fairfax Briohny Davey Adrian Jackson Vanessa Round Congratulations to all. Paul Liggins OA Chair of Selectors

Team for the Australia/NZ Test Match in Auckland

Orienteering Australia has selected a mix of youth and experience in its Bushrangers team to compete against New Zealand at 3 races in early June. Men’s team members include veteran Bruce Arthur who has been a model of consistency over recent years. It also features youngsters Kerrin Rattray and Dave Meyer who have both shown promising form in early National … Read More

Team for the World Championships in Denmark

Sue Neve

Orienteering Australia has announced the team of 5 men and 5 women to contest the World Championships in Denmark at the start of July. The women’s team is dominated by Tasmanians, with 3 of the members commencing their careers in the island State. It is headed by Hanny Allston who last year recorded Australia’s best ever result at the world … Read More

2006 Australian University Orienteering Championships

For the second consecutive year, the University of Tasmania has won the overall trophy at the Australian University Orienteering Championships. Held on the second day of the Easter 3-Day, the individual winners were David Shepherd (Australian National University) and Hanny Allston (University of Tasmania).  After confirmation of all entrants’ elibiligity with their universities, the University of Tasmania is the overall trophy winner, and … Read More