2005 Australian 3-Days at Jindabyne – full report

blair2005 Archive

De Haas makes a triumphant return home Troy de Haas, contesting his first major event in Australia for several years, made a triumphant return when he took out the Australian 3-Days at Jindabyne over Easter, beating the strongest field seen domestically since the 2000 World Cup. He set his victory up on Sunday, when an outstanding run from him combined … Read More

JWOC 2005 team announced

orientmaster2005 Archive

The Australian team for JWOC 2005 Australia goes into the 2005 Junior World Orienteering Championships with high hopes for some impressive results. Leading the team will be Julian Dent and Hanny Allston -both impressed at the Easter 3-day with second places in very competitive elite fields, and will expect to improve on their previous JWOC results. Jasmine Neve and Erin … Read More

BJ added to High Performance Group (HPG)

Shane Jenkins2005 Archive

Ian Prosser (Chair of Selectors): “The national selection panel has decided to add BJ to the High Performance Group for 2005 as a result of his recent outstanding performances in sprint races, his dedication to achieving success in Japan this year and his previous form.” Congrats BJ. He joins those already announced as being members of the 2005 National Squad … Read More

BJ in the Limelight

Shane Jenkins2005 Archive

Australian David Brickhill-Jones is featured in the first edition of O-Sport International, due out on April 4th. The magazine will include an A2 poster of Brickhill-Jones. At recent Park World Tour events in Italy David has won both the prologue and the 2nd round. Subscriptions for O-Sport International may be obtained for just $88 per year through The Australian Orienteer, … Read More

April Fool’s team for WOC ’05

Shane Jenkins2005 Archive

In response to the recent bushfires that wiped out the areas designated for upcoming selection trials Orienteering Australia has determined that the recent Australian Easter 3 Days competition will serve as the ONLY selection races for the Australian team to compete in the World Orienteering Championships in Japan later this year. Chair of Selectors Iain Prossor said earlier today, “It’s … Read More

Allison Claims a Fourth Easter Title

Shane Jenkins2005 Archive

Jo Allison won her fourth consecutive Australian Easter 3-Days at Jindabyne (NSW) today, while Troy de Haas won the Mens race. Jo Allison, who runs for the Canberra Cockatoos won in style — she claimed 2 second places and two firsts over the four stages to maintain her status as Australia’s leading female orienteer. She hit the lead yesterday in … Read More

De Haas Dominates Day 2

Shane Jenkins2005 Archive

Victorian Nugget Troy de Haas returned to career-best form today at the Australian Easter 3-days at Buckenderra near Jindabyne. De Haas seemed to be out of the contention for the 3-day title after losing 4 minutes in yesterdays middle distance race however in a physically demanding long distance race he showed his true colours dominating the rest of the field … Read More

Easter Day 1: Tight field in both Elite classes.

Shane Jenkins2005 Archive

You could throw a blanket over the main contenders for the Easter 3-days in both elite classes after a tight first day. David Shepherd left his recent run of poor form behind him with a strong win ahead of Julian Dent. These two are now tied for first place overall, with Grant Bluett in 3rd. Rob Walter and Tom Quayle … Read More

Cockatoos draw first blood

orientmaster2005 Archive

Canberra Cockatoos continued their dominance of the National Orienteering League, with a strong performance in the Easter 3-Days Prologue. The Cockatoos won the day by virtue of their Men’s Team (Grant Bluett, 1st; Rob Walter 2nd and Tom Quayle 5th), while the Victorian Nuggets took out the Women’s Teams (Natasha Key 1st, Clare Hawthorne 5th, Kathryn Ewels 8th). In the … Read More

Aussies in Japan

Shane Jenkins2005 Archive

Check out some of their results from the races they went in There was a sprint race on saturday, results as follows name time place Gueorgiou Thierry 0:10:22 1 Schneider David 0:11:14 2 de Haas Troy 0:11:15 3 Lauenstein Marc 0:11:19 4 Stevenson Jamie 0:11:22 5 Bentz Felix 0:11:24 6 Johnson Oli 0:11:37 7 Hubmann Daniel 0:11:49 8 Ott Christian … Read More