Home | News | 2024 Silva Medal Progress Scores

2024 Silva Medal Progress Scores

Photo by David George. Euan Best last year’s winner at start flag Day 2, 3-Days championships this year.

The Silva Medal is awarded to the Australian orienteer who best performs relative to their class in specified events.

Points are awarded for Days 1, 2 and 3 of the Australian 3-Days Championship; the Australian Championships, Oceania Championships, and Asia Pacific Championships (Sprint, Middle and Long); and any State Championship conducted at the 3-Days Carnival and the Australian Championships Carnival and the Asia Pacific Orienteering Championships or Oceania Championships (when conducted in Australia) as follows: 1st – 4 points, 2nd – 3 points, 3rd – 2 points, for otherwise finishing 1 point.

The Silva Medal winner is the orienteer with the maximum number of points accumulated from their best 6 events. In the event of a tie, the Silva Medal will be determined by count back using the average of the six best winning margins.

In 2024 the relevant events are:
30 March Day 1 3-Days – Pymton
31 March Day 2 3-Days – Ngarlta
1 April Day 3 3-Days – Narrinyeri Hills
28 September Australian Middle Championships – West of Kentucky
5 October Australian Long Championships – West of Kentucky
6 October Australian Sprint – Armidale

After 3 events, the orienteers listed below have amassed 12 points and are the only orienteers who can obtain maximum points from the 6 events. Winning margins will be crucial in determining the winner of the Silva Medal.
Progressive scores will be published in the evening after each event if possible.

Information provided by Orienteering Australia Statistician Darryl Erbacher.

Runner NameClubClassPointsPrevious Winner
Ted van GeldermalsenYV VM70A12
Sienna WhiteLI SW18A12
Sam WoolfordST N M20E12
Nick StanleyGO NM18A12
Natasha KeyMF VW50A12
Matthew CraneCC AM40A12
Grace CraneCC AW21E12
Eoin RotheryRR AM65A12
Debbie DaveyWR NW65A12
Andrew SlatteryRR AM35A12
Alex TarrYV VM80A12*
Alastair GeorgeST NM21E12

Related News

Announcing the WOC Australian team for 2024 in Edinburgh.
The OA MTBO Selection Team has selected Maya Bennette, Will Whittington and Lucas Kent for the 2024 Australian MTBO team.
A reminder to enter for the 2024 NOL presentation dinner on Saturday 18 May in Canberra. Entries close 12 May.