Home | News | Australian IOF Athlete Representatives Elected

Australian IOF Athlete Representatives Elected

Athlete Representatives to the IOF Athletes’ Advisory Groups for the new two-year term 2024-2026 have been elected. The elected IOF Athlete Representatives represent the voice and interests of athletes and are part of consultation and decision-making processes within the IOF organisation. Empowerment of athletes is a key element in the development of international orienteering.

There is one Athlete Advisory Group (AAG) for each discipline with a minimum of 4 members and a maximum of 6 members. The groups must have one or more members from outside Europe and at least two of each gender.

Major congratulations to Brodie Nankervis and Will Whittington on being elected in the foot orienteering discipline and MTB Orienteering discipline respectively.

The elected IOF Athletes’ Advisory Groups will formally continue the work of the current AAGs from 1 May 2024, and will before that elect their representatives to the IOF Athletes Commission. The Athletes Commission consists of two representatives from each AAG, of different gender. The Athletes Commission will then appoint two representatives to be full members of the IOF Council, one of each gender. This fill finally be ratified by the IOF General Assembly in July 2024.

For more information, visit: International Orienteering Federation

Related News

Announcing the WOC Australian team for 2024 in Edinburgh.
The OA MTBO Selection Team has selected Maya Bennette, Will Whittington and Lucas Kent for the 2024 Australian MTBO team.
A reminder to enter for the 2024 NOL presentation dinner on Saturday 18 May in Canberra. Entries close 12 May.