National MTBO Junior, Senior and Masters Series

A National competition in Mountain Bike Orienteering has been held since 2008. A series of events spread across at least 3 states constitutes the series each year.

There are competitions for individuals as well as state based teams. In 2008 and 2009, the series was conducted in Open Elite and Junior (under 21) classes. In 2010 the competition was expanded to include Masters age classes – increasing the competition between states.


The 2019 National Mountain Bike Orienteering Series schedule will include these rounds:-

  • Round 1 – 6-7th April – Newcastle NSW – NSW Champs and Selection Trials for Aust. MTBO Team
  • Round 2 – 31st Aug – 1 Sep – Killarney, QLD – QLD State Champs
  • Round 3 – 25-27th Oct Maryborough, VIC – Aust. Champs and VIC State Champs

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Classes Contested

Your age is defined as the age that you are at 31st December in the current year.

Class Age Range
M14 W14 14 & under
M16 W16 16 & under
M20 W20 20 & under
M21 W21 21 & over
M40 W40 40 & over
M50 W50 50 & over
M60 W60 60 & over
M70 W70 70 & over
M80 W80 80 & over



The Orienteering Australia Rules for MTBO will apply – OA MTBO RULES 2019


Individual Competition

The table below sets out how points can be scored in each race for the above classes.

Placing Points Placing Points
1st 30 14th 12
2nd 27 15th 11
3rd 24 16th 10
4th 22 17th 9
5th 21 18th 8
6th 20 19th 7
7th 19 20th 6
8th 18 21st 5
9th 17 22nd 4
10th 16 23rd 3
11th 15 24th 2
12th 14 25th 1
13th 13 26th or less 0

In each age division, the best five (5) results over all the years’ rounds will be counted in the individual age-group competition. There is no limit to the number of state competitors who may enter/score points in M/W14, M/W16, M/W20, M/W21, M/W40, 50, 60, 70, 80.


2019 National MTBO Series Standings

2018 National MTBO Series Standings

2017 National MTBO Series Standings

2016 National MTBO Series Standings

2015 National MTBO Series Standings

2014 National MTBO Series Standings


State Teams Competition

Contested among Canberra Cockatoos, NSW Stingers, Queensland Storm, Southern Arrows, Tasmanian Foresters, Victorian Nuggets and Western Nomads.
The top two (2) rider’s times from a state in each of the age divisions will be summed in the official ranking to determine the team placing. If only one state rider records a time, that state is ranked based on that result alone – below those with two riders. After each event, points from each of the divisions will be summed to give the National MTBO Series Team Scores.

1st Place = 9 Points
2nd Place = 7 points
3rd Place = 5 Points
4th Place = 4 Points
5th Place = 3 points
6th Place = 2 Points
7th Place = 1 Point
Unplaced = 0 points

 Each year an Australian MTBO Championship is staged in one of the states on a rotating basis. The Orienteering Australia State MTBO Champion Plaque is awarded. Riders in all age classes from M/W14 to M/W80 are awarded 5 points for first, 3 points for second , and 1 point for third in the Sprint, Middle and Long Distance events. State point scores since the first Australian MTBO Championship in 1998 are listed in the table below.

OA State Champion Plaque – Australian Championships Scores


Historical National Individual and State Team Results

2018 Final Standings –  Individual, Elite, Masters, National Series awards Winners

2017 Final Standings – Individual, EliteMasters, National Series awards Winners

2016 Final Standings… IndividualElite, Masters

2015 Final Standings – Individuals, Elite, Masters and State
2014 Final Standings – Individuals, Elite and Masters
2013 Final Standings – Elite and Masters
2012 Final Standings – Elite and Masters
2011 Final Standings – Elite and Masters
2010 Final Standings – Elite and Masters
2009 Final Standings – Individuals and Teams
2008 Final Standings – Individual and Teams


Annuals – Photos and Stories

Australian Orienteer Annual 2015


Australian MTBO Champions – Individual Winners


Australian MTBO Sprint-Distance Champions

Australian MTBO Middle-Distance Champions

AUS MTBO Long Distance Champions

Australian MTBO Championships – Past Event Details

Australian MTBO Sprint Venues and Data

Australian MTBO Middle Distance Venues and Data

Australian MTBO Long Distance Venues & Data


Australian MTBO Team

Previous Australian Teams