Home | News | 2024 Hall of Fame Inductees

2024 Hall of Fame Inductees

Congratulations to the 2024 Hall of Fame inductees.

Established in 2016, the Orienteering Australia Hall of Fame is the crowning achievement of a sporting career in orienteering in Australia and represents the highest level of peer recognition for an individual’s contribution to Australian orienteering.

A General Member is someone who has demonstrated excellence and outstanding achievement in roles supportive to orienteering participants (administration, coaching/training, event organisation, mapping, and officiating).

2024 Hall of Fame Inductees – General Members

Bob Allison receives recognition for his span and quality of achievements at local, state, national and international level for over 45 years. Bob is also the second member of the family to join the Hall of Fame, as his daughter Jo was inducted into the Hall of Fame Athlete Division in 2022.

Ian Baker has provided outstanding contribution to Australian orienteering in establishing the Australian Orienteer, Australia’s national orienteering magazine. Ian also played a central role in the development and promotion of ski orienteering (SkiO) during the 1990s.

Rob Plowright was a prolific mapper, well-respected course setter and event adviser. Rob was one of the first people in Australia to use OCAD as a mapping tool and made significant contributions to mountain bike orienteering, creating numerous MTBO maps in the Ballarat region.

To learn more about each individual’s achievements, visit HALL OF FAME.

The Orienteering Australia Hall of Fame recognises and promotes the outstanding sporting achievements of our athletes and officials to acknowledge the rich sporting heritage of Australian orienteering. It is an illustrious group of Australia’s most respected and celebrated orienteers that span the test of time. They are the best of the best, who through their achievements have made a significant contribution to our sporting history and have inspired others to achieve their potential in both sport and life.

Related News

Announcing the WOC Australian team for 2024 in Edinburgh.
The OA MTBO Selection Team has selected Maya Bennette, Will Whittington and Lucas Kent for the 2024 Australian MTBO team.
A reminder to enter for the 2024 NOL presentation dinner on Saturday 18 May in Canberra. Entries close 12 May.